Mads or Mad



Which makes your star sign a?


Any pets?

Yep! It's a madhouse at our place, we have three dogs and a cat. They are a pretty odd bunch with a border collie called Occy, Olive - a long haired sausage dog called and a rescue called Scuffy.

Where did you grow up and where is your current home in the world right now?

I grew up in Geraldton Western Australia, a coastal town 5 hrs north of Perth. Growing up my dad was a crayfisherman at the Abrolhos Islands. This allowed my brother and I the opportunity to spend a few months of each year over there learning to drive boats, fish and dive. At the same time my mum was a remote area nurse so we travelled around WA quite a bit and lived in various beautiful regional places including the Cocos Keeling Islands for a year and Kalumburu.

Now I live between Cowaramup in the South West of WA just outside Margaret River and Fremantle. Spending Monday to Wednesday in Fremantle for uni and the later part of the week down south.

So what does a day in life look like? Tell us everything from wake up to sun down...

Ahhhh this is such a hard one as my days vary soo much…

I often tell people that I live a bit of a double life. On a “typical week” I spend Monday to Wednesday at Uni usually managing to sneak in a late skate or a sunset swim with friends and my dogs. The rest of the week I typically spend down in Cowaramup, surfing around the Margret River region or spearfishing and cray diving with my partner and mates.

What’s one thing you do for self-love and self-care?

For me a swim at the beach or a diving is my self care ritual. It is the one time that I feel like I can completely switch off and just enjoy what I am doing.

Favourite quote or mantra?

I am not a huge quote person but I guess something I try to go by is to make the best of every situation and just have fun and laugh as often as possible.

Who and what inspires you?

My mum is a huge inspiration to me, she is an amazing nurse practitioner and one of the most capable and talented women I have ever met. It was my mum who made me realise that I could have a career where I am able help people whilst living in incredible places.

Watching her as a nurse in incredibly remote areas often with no assistance was incredibly inspiring. Her resilience and strength made me believe I could achieve anything I set my mind to. Once in the middle of the night I remember her taking a small dingy from the island we lived on to a neighbouring island 20 minutes away to care for someone who had been in a fishing accident. It was this kind of strength and kindest that has always inspired me.

What’s on top of your bucket list? One thing you’ve always wanted to do...

The top of my bucket-list is to finish my medical degree and buy and live aboard a sailboat. With the ultimate goal of sailing from Western Australia to Indonesia and exploring the remote islands around the more well known areas.

What would you say your everyday go to style is?

I would say my style is fairly casual. I pretty much live in bathers and denim shorts or jeans. I do however have a soft spot for 70’s fashion and have a pretty epic collection of flares and jumpsuits which are my go too for an evening boogie.

What are you vibing from your Rusty pieces?

I am absolutely loving my Rusty swim. The Blurred Lines one piece and Sandalwood underwire bikini are my absolute favourites. The styles just feel so good on, are super comfy and feel super secure to surf in.